Missill – Targets

Missil’s aim is to hit the Targets of hip hop, electro, dancehall, breaks and grime and it comes easy to this DJ, graf artist, producer and all round woman of talent.

Missill is from and she made her name with the craze of 2ManyDJs style compilations of a few years ago when she released the Mash Up. So depending on how you look at these things, this is the difficult follow-up and/or her debut album as an artist in her own right. And that’s where you get the best of both with the combination of new tunes with the progression of a DJ set.
Not only that but there’s a very impressive line-up of guest vocalists starting off with Dynamite MC (who goes back as far as Talkin’ Loud/Roni Size/Reprazent) on the first track on the CD. ‘Forward’, in a groove al la Roots ‘Again & Again‘ Manuva, will be the first single from the album but there’s no let up in the pace with a bouncin’ ragga of ‘Ill’ (Junior Red) and the collaboration with Ninelives The Cat on ‘Toxick’.
One of FLY’s old favourites, the distinctive of BluRum13 (DJ Vadim & One Self) gets old skool electro head nod on Atari on a track called ‘Choose To Care’ which finds us at half time; after the interlude, 3-time world DMC turntablist champion from Rennes, DJ Netik scratches dirty on an electro-rock-dubber of a ‘Dark Moon’ rising.
Talking of dirty, from Brazil, Edu K‘s Baile arrives on ‘Kabrake’ and producer Chernobyl (Bondo Do Role) gives the mix something different. And talking different, Yethz is a singer and model from Venezuela who turns up on a couple of tracks, ‘Mueve Lo’ being the better of the two.
If you like to dance in a loud Pirate Robot Midget / The Tape vs. RQM / Crookers type way, this is an album for all crossover funk, hip-hop and electro dancehall fans.
There’s certainly not much cinematic about ‘Comic Strip Soundtrack’, currently my favourite track, but the whole album takes me back to dance tent vibe at Big Chill Festival last weekend; the louder you play this album, the more fantastic it sounds.
As Missill is working DJ with over 400 gigs in the last few years under her belt, she’s booked solid for the rest of the year and is on her way to next month and on 1st October is appearing at Supercharged in (should be ideal for fans of Splitloop).
The album ends with a bonus Targets Mega Mash Up Medley Mix which may be predicable, but highly enjoyable. Definitely one to see live in party mode I think.
Forthcoming Gigs:
13 Aug Sziget Budapest
15 Aug Plage – FNAC Ind?©tendances
16 Aug Astropolis Brest
22 Aug Festival Foc Feria Valencia
29 Aug Festival Cabaret Vert Charleville-M?©zieres
30 Aug Foreztival Trelins(42)
05 Sep Trinity Rooms Limerick
06 Sep Button factory Dublin
12 Sep Diff’Art Parthenay
13 Sep Festival St-Nolff St-Nolff
27 Sep Espace Mistral Montelimar
01 Oct Supercharged Brighton www.superchargedmusic.com www.myspace.com/atgandsupercharged
04 Oct Vitalic Party@Eurexpo Lyon
08 Oct Confort Moderne Poitiers
11 Oct Brancaleone Rome
17 Oct Astrolabe Orleans
18 Oct Akwaba Avignon- Chateauneuf De Cadagne
24 Oct BE TRASH PARTY!! Bordeaux
10 Nov Festival les indisciplin?©s Lorient
14 Nov Bindy Club Pau
Reviewed: Missill – Targets (Discograph) Cat. No. 3700426903691 Release date: 1st September 2008
01 Forward featuring Dynamite MC
02 Ill featuring Junior Red
03 Toxick featuring – Dynamite & Ninelives The Cat
04 Kema featuring Yethz
05 Check Dat featuring Ninelives The Cat
06 Choose To Care featuring BluRum13
07 Interlude Tez
08 Dark Moon featuring DJ Netik
09 Cant Control Me
10 Kabrake featuring Edu K
11 Comic Strip Soundtrack
12 Glitch
13 Scream
14 Get Busted
15 Mueve Lo featuring Yethz
www.last.fm/music/MiSSiLL for Electro-Booty-Breaks-HipHop-Mash-Up-Club Mix free download.