JJ Cale – Roll On

If you’re not familar with the “hammock sound” of guitar guru , roll with his latest album Roll On and be prepared to mellow out.

You’ll know singer-songwriter-guitarist from Eric Clapton’s biggest hits ‘After Midnight’ and ‘Cocaine’ as both are original Cale masterpieces of slow hand craftsmanship. Cale and Clapton produced a Grammy wining album The Road To Escondido and whilst Cale’s album tally is well into double figures, Roll On is his first solo release in nearly five years.
So get the hammock out for some prime “recliner groove” as vocals, guitar, bass and piano simply lends itself to a foot-tapping and gentle rolling from this old troubadour who takes us to Tulsa and back. Even with a small banking band that includes Clapton guesting on the title track, this is laid back country in trademark JJ Cale style.
Roll On!
Reviewed: JJ Cale – Roll On (Because Music) Cat No: BEC5772470 Release date: 9th March 2009 – Eric Clapton appears courtesy of Reprise Records.
01 Who Knew (3:30)
02 Former Me (2:48)
03 Where The Sun Don’t Shine (3:07)
04 Down To Memphis (3:05)
05 Strange Days (3:10)
06 Cherry Street (3:43)
07 Fonda-Lina (3:20)
08 Leaving In The Morning (2:37)
09 Oh Mary (3:34)
10 Old Friend (3:55)
11 Roll On feat. Eric Clapton (4:43)
12 Bring Down The Curtain (2:51)