Stac – Turn That Light Out

Anyone would we’re at war as I keep hearing folks saying, “Turn That Light Out” but it’s all to do with ’s fantastic debut album that’s coming out on Monday.

If you picked up your copy of OneTaste Collective Vol 1 CD at OneTaste at this week (as previewed HERE on FLY) but you may not know that helping out producer/founder Dannii Evans was a certain “Stuff Doer Lady” Stacey Dowdeswell (aka Stac).
So it’s little wonder that she says, “I think it might possibly be the most exciting week of my life.” as tomorrow sees the much anticipated launch of her debut album. After her debut single ‘Balls Bounce’ (with a Bonobo remix on the b-side) and the track ‘Tip’ being featured on Underground Hits & Exclusive Bits 4, it’s been worth the wait.
Stac is very much the current sound of 45s as a delicate and vulnerable soulful flower but with song writting “balls” that’ll surprise you. The album picks up on influences from acoustic, folk, , and has lots of FLY favourites on the credit list including Mancunian trumpeter Matthew Halsall, the trombone of Magnus Dearness (Hackney Colliery Band), The Heritage Orchestra‘s string seciton, former The Hat member Dan Clark on harp and double bass, Part-Time Heroes‘ pianist Stephen McCleery with producer and guitar of Adam Scimshire, engineered by Ben Lamdin and 12 backing singers including Abi Sugden, Marie-Claire Denyer and Sophie Faricy!
So the album is definitely not ‘The Same Old Thing’ (the title of the opening track) and the next, ‘Straniger’ (the reggae one) is my favourite as the lyrics are an interesting take on train travel (Lilly Allen it ain’t, but in a good way).
‘Balls Bounce’ is beautiful in its simplicity and ‘Head On Me’ is equally simple even as its builds from Adam’s acoustic guitar to the big strings arrangement at the end. From a -jazz point of view, ‘All Or Nothing’ (featuring Stephen McCleery) is the one that’s closest to another Lamdin collaboration, Lizzy Parks.
As with most things Wah Wah 45s, it’s not easily pidgeon-holeable (that’s good in our book) and you’ll find yourself bopping about to ‘Whoops’, getting caught up with the emotion of ‘Glory’ or joining in on with the choir on ‘Tip’.
‘The album ends on a version of the soul classic ‘Cry To Me’ but, as I can’t make the Vibe Bar tomorrow, I can’t help thinking how great it’ll be to hearing this live at the in August – can’t wait.
See HERE for details on the launch night and other forthcoming Stac gigs.
Reviewed: Stac – Turn That Light Out (Wah Wah 45s) Cat. No. WAHCD013 Release date: 21st June 2010
1. Same Old Thing (5:05)
2. Strainger (5:09)
3. Balls Bounce (3:06)
4. Head On Me (4:00)
5. All Or Nothing (5:29)
6. Whoops (3:03)
7. More (4:00)
8. Glory (5:10)
9. Tip (4:10)
10. Cry To Me (1:48)

  • Alan Soulagent

    You guys know I like to support the more underground titles at the store and one that shouldn’t be overlooked is from Stac out of the UK. Turn That Light Out is a lovely mellow laid back but beautifully penned and arranged album. Big up Dom Servini and Wah Wah for getting this out there.